| 8.5°C Dublin

county finals O'Callaghan Mills face a 'Bridge too far in Clare final as they bid to dethrone the reigning champs

County finals: Hurling


Power: TJ Reid of Ballyhale

Power: TJ Reid of Ballyhale


Power: TJ Reid of Ballyhale

Clare: O'Callaghan Mills v Sixmilebridge, Ennis, 3.0

Sixmilebridge have been the dominant force in Clare hurling over the last decade. Today, they are bidding for their fifth title since 2013. Their former goalkeeper and current Wexford coach Davy Fitzgerald is part of their management team, and they are the defending title holders.

O'Callaghan Mills are the surprise packets of the championship.

They hit 1-2 in injury-time to secure a shock 2-17 to 1-17 win over the 2016 and 2018 champions Ballyea in the semi-final. Clare's 2013 All-Ireland-winning captain Pat Donnellan is a key figure in the side. The club last won the county title in 1937, and this is their first final appearance since 1993, when they were beaten by Sixmilebridge.

Verdict: Sixmilebridge

Kilkenny: Ballyhale Shamrocks v Dicksboro, Nowlan Park, 2.30

Henry Shefflin has stepped down as manager, while Adrian Mullen is out for the season with a cruciate ligament injury, but Ballyhale - now coached by Waterford-native James O'Connor - are still in the hunt for a hat-trick of Kilkenny titles.

They had to rely on all their survival instincts, as well as the combined brilliance of TJ Reid and Colin Fennelly, to see off city rivals O'Loughlin Gaels in an epic semi-final. Cillian Buckley is a pivotal figure for Dicksboro, who last tasted glory in 2017.

They need to stop Ballyhale from scoring goals if they are to have a chance of inflicting a first knockout defeat on the Shamrocks at county, provincial or All-Ireland level since they lost to James Stephens in the 2017 Kilkenny semi-final.

Verdict: Ballyhale Shamrocks

Roscommon: Athleague v Pádraig Pearses, Hyde Park, 1.0

Beaten in the county football final last weekend, Pádraig Pearses are aiming for their fourth hurling title.

Favourites Athleague have 19 titles to their name. Beaten finalists last year, their last victory came in 2018. However, the underdogs Pearses bridged a 30-year gap when they won the county title in 2017.

Verdict: Athleague

Sligo: Naomh Eoin v Easkey, Markievicz Park, 4.30

A repeat of the 2019 final, in which Naomh Eoin, who are based in Sligo town, won the title for the first time. Easkey are aiming for a first win since 1963.

Verdict: Naomh Eoin.

Wicklow: Bray Emmets v Carnew Emmets, Aughrim, 4.30

Bray Emmets have won four Wicklow titles since 2014. Two of those finals wins have come against Carnew, and they are the defending champions. Carnew have 19 titles, but last won in 2009.

Verdict: Bray Emmets.