| 9.1°C Dublin

Kileen's goal kills Cratloe

Cratloe 12

Kilmurry Ibrickane 1-12


Hero: Mark Kileen scored the decisive goal

Hero: Mark Kileen scored the decisive goal


Hero: Mark Kileen scored the decisive goal

Kilmurry-Ibrickane were crowned Clare SFC champions at Cusack Park, Ennis yesterday with three points to spare over Cratloe.

A ninth-minute goal by roving corner-back Mark Kileen proved to be the difference between the sides in an entertaining Banner County decider.

Kilmurry, who last claimed the crown in 2017, employed experienced Marty McMahon as a sweeper in front of the half-back line, and this ploy definitely paid off on the day.

Team captain and veteran Michael Hogan lifted the Jack Daly Cup after the game, a fitting tribute to the half-forward, who began his career in 2002.

This was Kilmurry's fourth success over the last ten years.

At half-time, the West Clare outfit lead by 1-6 to 0-5, with corner-forward Keelan Sexton on song from play and free-kicks.

Cratloe never gave up after the break and reduced the deficit to two points (1-9 to 0-10) by the 52nd-minute with a Conal O'Hanlon pointed free.

O 'Hanlon had the ball in the opponents' net earlier in the half but after consultation with his umpires, referee Niall Quinn adjudged the mid-fielder to have been in the square.

But Kilmurry finished in strong fashion and a pair of points from the fist of Daniel Walsh, plus a score by captain Hogan, saw them through.

Scorers: Kilmurry Ibrickane: K Sexton (0-5) 2 fs, M Kileen (1-0), D Walsh (0-2), N Downes (0-2), C Morrissey, A Shannon, M Hogan (0-1) each. Cratloe: C McInerney (0-4) 4 fs, C O'Hanlon (0-3), P Collins (0-2), L Markham, D Ryan, S Collins (0-1) each.