GAA round-up: Dublin and Galway pick up silverware

Dublin's Ciaran Reddin lifts the O'Byrne Cup
Dublin's Ciaran Reddin lifts the O'Byrne Cup

Dublin footballers now hold every trophy available to them after Paul Clarke ended his temporary spell in charge of the team with O'Byrne Cup success.

With essentially a third-string selection, Dublin proved too strong for Louth in the final in Drogheda and ran out 2-16 to 1-10 winners.

Dublin scored seven points in a row after half time before Colm Basquel and Killian O'Gara added gloss to the scoreline with late goals.

Free-taker Paul Hudson top scored with 0-06 for Dublin who will have Jim Gavin back in charge for their league opener in Cavan next weekend.

Galway retained their FBD Connacht league title after beating Roscommon in Kiltoom.

Cillian McHugh and Danny Cummins scored a goal in either half for the Tribesmen who finished the game with 13 men. 

Roscommon manager Kevin McStay confirmed after the game that Cathal Cregg and Neil Collins will not be part of his squad this season.

Cregg is completing a PhD this year and has decided to concentrate on that while Collins is understood to have added work commitments that may take him to the US this year.

Cregg has been one of Roscommon's most consistent players in recent seasons and currently works for Connacht GAA.

Collins was a defensive pillar during last year's league but a serious hamstring injury ended his championship prior to last year's Connacht final.

Roscommon have made extensive changes to their squad since last season with Senan Kilbride, Geoffrey Claffey and Niall Carty all retiring while Donie Shine, David Keenan, Sean Purcell and James McDermott, who all featured in last year's championship, are no longer part of the squad. 

In hurling, Kilkenny edged out Davy Fitzgerald's Wexford by a point in their Walsh Cup semi-final in New Ross.

The match looked set to go to extra time before Alan Murphy pointed a free in injury time to send the Cats into next week's final where they will face Galway.

In Munster, a stoppage time goal from Alan Cadogan saw Cork pip Limerick by a point in the Munster SH League final.

Despite the agony of losing the game so late on, the Limerick supporters will be pleased with the improvement the side made since they conceded seven goals to Cork just two weeks ago.


O'Byrne Cup final
Louth 1-10 Dublin 2-16

Connacht SFL final
Galway 2-14 Roscommon 0-15

Munster SHL final
Limerick 1-20 Cork 1-21

Walsh Cup semi-final
Wexford 0-14 Kilkenny 0-15

Kehoe Cup round 3
Longford 0-13 Louth 3-18
Wicklow 3-16 Trinity College 1-13