| 13.1°C Dublin

Ballyboden look two win it once more


Dual dynamo: Conal Keaney of Ballyboden

Dual dynamo: Conal Keaney of Ballyboden


Dual dynamo: Conal Keaney of Ballyboden

Dublin: Ballyboden St Enda's v Ballymun Kickhams, Parnell Park, 4.30. Live on TG4

Defending Dublin and Leinster champions Ballyboden St Enda's bid to win back-to-back county titles for the first time in their history.

Conal Keaney and Simon Lambert, who featured on their hurling side beaten by Cuala in the county decider last weekend, will be involved, as the Knocklyon-based club aim for their fifth county crown.

Even though players from Ballymun Kickhams have featured prominently in Dublin's seven All-Ireland wins since 2011, the club has struggled to make an impact in the Dublin series. They won the last of their three titles in 2012, and were beaten finalists against St Vincent's in 2013, and, again, in 2017.

Ballymun's James McCarthy, Dean Rock, John and Paddy Small, Philly McMahon and Evan Comerford are all likely to feature in Dublin's championship squad this season, whereas Michael Darragh Macauley - who missed Ballyboden's semi-final win over St Jude's - was the only one of their players to start last year's All-Ireland final.

The Ballymun bench made a significant contribution in their semi-final victory over Kilmacud Crokes, hitting 1-3. James McCarthy remains their go-to player, but Davy Byrne is suspended.

Much will depend on the fitness of Macauley and Colm Basquel, who also missed the semi-final. But if Ryan Basquel and Robbie McDaid hit form, Ballyboden have a better record when it comes to closing out matches.

Verdict: Ballyboden St Enda's

Fermanagh: Derrygonnelly Harps v Ederney St Joseph's, Enniskillen, 6.0

Derrygonnelly Harps are bidding for the sixth title on the spin, whereas St Joseph's only title was achieved in 1968. The two clubs clashed in the 2018 final, with Harps winning comfortably by 2-16 to 0-10.

Verdict: Derrygonnelly Harps.

Leitrim: Mohill v St Mary's, Kiltoghert, Carrick-on-Shannon, 3.30

Managed by former Longford boss Denis Connerton, St Mary's, Kiltoghert, based in Carrick-on-Shannon, last won the title in 2013.

Mohill, meanwhile, are enjoying their most productive ever period, with wins in 2015 and 2017, and they were beaten finalists in 2018.

St Mary's beat defending champions Glencar-Manorhamilton in the semi-final but suffered a 13-point loss to today's opponents earlier in the competition.

Verdict: Mohill

Louth: Naomh Máirtin v St Mary's, Ardee, Darver, 4.30

Monasterboice-based Naomh Máirtin were founded in 1957, which was also the last time Louth won the All-Ireland. This is their third final appearance in a row, but they were beaten by Newtown Blues in the 2019 and 2018 deciders.

St Mary's, Ardee are appearing in their first final since 2016, and last won a title in 1995.

Verdict: Naomh Máirtin

Westmeath: Tyrrellspass v St Loman's, Mullingar, 4.0

Beaten in the last two finals, St Loman's, powered by John Heslin, did win a hat-trick of titles between 2015 and 2017, when they had back-back-back final wins over today's opponents. Tyrrellspass were also beaten in the 2013 final, and haven't tasted glory since winning back-to-back titles in 2006-07.

Verdict: St Loman's