Style & ShowbizFashion

The Row wins big at CFDAs

The Row wins big at CFDAs

The Row has been named Womenswear Designer of the Year at the CFDA Fashion Awards.

The annual fashion ceremony took place in at the Lincoln Center's Alice Tully Hall in New York City last night, with Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen's label picking up the biggest prize. This is the second time the fashion house has received the gong, and this time the pair fought off stiff competition from Marc Jacobs, Michael Kors, Proenza Schouler and Altuzarra.

Mary-Kate and Ashley were handed their statue by Amanda Seyfried and couldn't stop thanking each other during their speech.

Another big winner was Tom Ford, who was named Menswear Designer of the Year. He used his speech to thank his head of menswear Peter Hawkings.

Others to receive prizes included Pharrell Williams, who got the Fashion Icon prize via Kanye West. That had been announced before proceedings, meaning the musician had time to work on his 15-minute speech - which he used to discuss his personal style.

Similarly it was already known that Betsey Johnson would be given the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, with the 72-year-old pulling off one of her trademark cartwheels as she collected the prize from Kelly Osbourne.

Valentino's Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pierpaolo Piccioli got the International Award thanks to their work bringing the label into modern times, with Tabitha Simmons and Hood by Air also honoured.

The ceremony was hosted by James Corden, with many big name stars in attendance. Among them was Kim Kardashian, who wore a custom black Proenza Schouler gown with sheer panels, despite only just announcing her second pregnancy. Also there were Rebecca Minkoff, Chrissy Teigen, Alexander Wang and Coco Rocha, among others.

2015 CFDA Fashion Awards winners:

Womenswear Designer of the Year: The Row

Menswear Designer of the Year Award: Tom Ford

Accessory Designer of the Year Award: Tabitha Simmons

Swarovski Award for Womenswear: Rosie Assoulin

Swarovski Award for Menswear: Hood by Air

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design: Mansur Gavriel

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Betsey Johnson

The Media Award: Instagram

The Founder's Award: Millard “Mickey” Drexler

The Fashion Icon Award: Pharrell Williams

The International Award: Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pierpaolo Piccioli of Valentino

Cover Media