Style & ShowbizFashion

CFDA shakes up categories for 2017 Fashion Awards

CFDA shakes up categories for 2017 Fashion Awards

The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) is making some changes to its Fashion Awards categories this year (17).

The annual ceremony is held in partnership with crystal brand Swarovski and has previously presented three accolades recognising up-and-coming designers in womenswear, menswear and accessories.

However, from 2017 onwards the three categories have been merged into one prize, the Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent, with each of the nominees having to be American or U.S.-based and launched a line within the past five years.

"We decided to focus on one award to better reflect the realities of fashion and to strengthen the honour of this prestigious award," Steven Kolb, president and chief executive officer of the CFDA, told WWD.

"We recognise that many emerging designers push boundaries across multiple categories, and this is a fantastic opportunity to spotlight designers with multifaceted visions across womenswear, menswear and accessory design," Nadja Swarovski, member of the Swarovski executive board, added.

In addition to this alteration there is also to be a new honour, the Swarovski Award for Positive Change. The recipient of this award will have had to have made an impact on American communities and through their work and time and prove they have improved the welfare of others.

On Friday (17Feb17) members of the 2017 CFDA Fashion Awards Guild will receive a ballot to nominate those designers and honourees who will be up for the chance to win this year (17).

On top of the two newly created Swarovski categories the other accolades include; Womenswear Designer of the Year, Menswear Designer of the Year, Accessories Designer of the Year and Fashion Icon.

Last year (16), the awards ceremony saw big names like Marc Jacobs, Brandon Maxwell, Thom Browne and Beyonce emerge successful.

The 2017 nominees and honourees will be announced on 23 March (17), with the event taking place in New York on 5 June.

Cover Media