Tipp crowned Munster U-21 football champions

Tipperary captain Colin O'Riordan celebrates with the Munster U-21 cup
Tipperary captain Colin O'Riordan celebrates with the Munster U-21 cup

Tipperary have been crowned Munster U-21 football champions for only the second time.

The Premier County held out in a nail biting finish to win by one point (1-15 to 3-8) and deny Cork a fifth title on the spin.

Tipp, who now meet Dublin, in the All-Ireland semi-final on Saturday, April 18 in Tullamore (throw-in 4.0), previously won the provincial title in 2010.

Nobody could deny the merit of their win even though they conceded three goals - two on either side of half time and another in the last minute - they recorded 16 scores compared to just 11 for the visitors.

The victory wasn't entirely unexpected; in 2011 the Tipperary minor football team won the All-Ireland minor title when they rocked favourites Dublin with a late goal.

Tipp were superbly led by All Star nominee Colin O'Riordan who was doubtful for the game right up until the throw-in having taken a heavy knock to his head in Tipperary's penultimate National League tie against Sligo on Sunday week last.

O'Riordan played and led from the front scoring two points while another late inclusion Kevin O'Halloran kicked six points, five from frees.

Cian Dorgan netted Cork's third goal near the finish and  had a chance in the dying seconds to level the final but his effort were wide.

The final whistle sparked joyous scenes as hundreds of Tipperary fans raced onto the field to congratulate their heroes.

In the other All-Ireland semi-final in the grade on April 18 Tyrone meet Roscommon in Sligo's Markievicz Park, 6.0). Both games will be shown live on TG4.