Which goal created the biggest twitter stir?

Mata's goal at Anfield was twitter's biggest hit of the season
Mata's goal at Anfield was twitter's biggest hit of the season

Twitter is the first port of call for millions of soccer fans around the world these days and now the data has been totted up to reveal the most popular moment of the Premier League season.

The vast army of Manchester United supporters around the world tend to lead the way when it comes to tweeting about their beloved club, so it is no surprise that two of their most memorable moments of the season steal the top honours on the twitter statistics.

1. Juan Mata's - Liverpool vs Man Utd (March 22nd 2015)

With his first half goal giving United an advantage against their deadly rivals, his scissors kick second was a work of art that had fans all over the world reacher for their 140 character box to type their adulation.

2. Robin van Persie - Man Utd vs Chelsea (October 26th 2014)

United's last gasp equaliser against Jose Mourinho's side inspired an extravagant reaction from their goal scorer, with Van Persie declaring the result was evidence that his side were on their way back to the top.

3. Didier Drogba - Man Utd v Chelsea (October 26th 2014)

It was a busy Sunday in Twitterland last October as United and Chelsea battled it out at Old Trafford, with Blues fans tweeting away as their hero Drogba opened the scoring.

It wasn't just the marquee goals of the season that inspired huge twitter interaction, with these matches rated as the most mentioned on twitter in the season just gone:

1. Liverpool 1-2 Manchester United - March 22nd 2015

2. Manchester United 3-0 Liverpool - December 14th 2014

3. Manchester United 4-2 Manchester City - April 12th 2015

4. Manchester United 1-1 Chelsea - October 26th 2014

5. Chelsea 2-0 Arsenal - October 5th 2014

Meanwhile, these are the managers that inspired the most twitter chatter over the last 10 months:

1. Jose Mourinho (Chelsea, above)

2. Louis van Gaal (Manchester United)

3. Arsene Wenger (Arsenal)

4. Brendan Rodgers (Liverpool)

5. Manuel Pellegrini (Manchester City)

6. Alan Pardew (Newcastle/Crystal Palace)

7. Tim Sherwood (Aston Villa)

8. Ronald Koeman (Southampton)

9. Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham)

10. Harry Redknapp (QPR)