Twitter storm over Van Gaal's Man United reign as Juan Mata left out of Spain squad

Twitter storm over Van Gaal's Man United reign as Juan Mata left out of Spain squad

Juan Mata failed to make the cut for Vicente del Bosque's 25-man provisional Euro 2016 squad, sending Twitter into a frenzy over Louis van Gaal's Old Trafford tenure.

Manchester United midfielder Juan Mata, who has 41 caps, has been omitted from Spain's provisional 25-man squad for Euro 2016.

Mata, who also missed out on Spain's friendly double-header against Italy and Romania in March, was unable to convince Del Bosque with his late season form for United.

Fellow Red Devils midfielder Ander Herrera was also overlooked.

The Spain selection caused a Twitter storm over Louis van Gaal's Old Trafford reign, with these just a selection of many aggrieved reactions:

United stopper David de Gea was included in the Spain selection.

Chelsea striker Diego Costa has also been left out of Del Bosque's squad, which will be cut down to 23

Costa, who has scored 16 goals for the Blues this season, has been dogged by hamstring injuries and has not been named in the group.

The 27-year-old won the last of his 10 caps against England in November but will have the summer off.

Former Chelsea and Liverpool striker Fernando Torres has also been unable to force his way into the squad, despite an impressive end to the season with Atletico Madrid.

Torres has scored 10 goals in the last 19 games, helping Atletico to the Champions League final and third place in La Liga, but that has not been enough to earn a first call-up since the 2014 World Cup.

Arsenal midfielder Santi Cazorla is another notable absentee although the uncapped pair Lucas Vazquez and Saul Niguez, of Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid respectively, are included.

Spain travel to France next month hoping to retain the crown they won in Ukraine and Poland four years ago and they begin against Czech Republic in Toulouse on June 13.

Here is Spain's provisional squad in full: I Casillas, D de Gea, S Rico, S Ramos, G Pique, D Carvajal, J Alba, M Bartra, C Azpilicueta, M San Jose, Juanfran, Bruno, S Busquets, Koke, Thiago, A Iniesta, Isco, D Silva, Pedro, C Fabregas, S Niguez, A Aduriz, Nolito, A Morata, L Vazquez.