Three new players named in 37-man Irish squad for Euro qualifiers

Martin O'Neill
Martin O'Neill

Martin O'Neill added three new faces to the Irish set-up when naming his 37-man squad for the upcoming Euro 2016 qualifers against Georgia and Gibraltar.

Bournemouth's Eunan O'Kane, Brentford’s Alan Judge and Aberdeen’s Adam Rooney are the three new faces for the very large squad named today.

Greg Cunningham also gets a recall to the side, as does Kevin Doyle, now plying his trade in the MLS.

The squad will be cut back before meeting up on August 30 for the games. Ireland play Gibraltar in Faro on September 4 followed by Georgia in the Aviva Stadium three days later in two must-win games.

Speaking at today's press conference at the FAI headquarters, Republic of Ireland manager Martin O’Neill said: “These are two very important games in our qualifying campaign and we are looking forward to them. The players are all now back in action with their respective clubs and will be ready for these games.

“We will be training at the new FAI National Training Centre in preparation for the trip to Faro to take on Gibraltar and the home game against Georgia at Aviva Stadium. The facilities are very impressive and we look forward to making this our training base for all future international camps.”

As reported earlier, Jack Grealish isn't included after he requested more time to decide on his international career.

O'Neill also said that he spoke to the Aston Villa youngster, and his father, 10 days ago and he expected the midfielder to make a decision soon.

Full squad:

David Forde 
Shay Given 
Keiren Westwood  
Darren Randolph  
Rob Elliot  
Richard Keogh  
Marc Wilson  
Seamus Coleman 
Cyrus Christie  
John O’Shea  
Alex Pearce  
Ciaran Clark  
Paul McShane  
James McCarthy  
Jeff Hendrick  
Stephen Ward 
Greg Cunningham 
Harry Arter  

Glenn Whelan 

Eunan O’Kane  

Aiden McGeady  
James McClean 
Alan Judge  
Robbie Brady 
Anthony Pilkington 
Stephen Quinn  
David Meyler  
Wes Hoolahan  
Robbie Keane  
Shane Long  
Daryl Murphy  
Jon Walters  
Kevin Doyle  
Anthony Stokes  
David McGoldrick  
Adam Rooney 
Simon Cox