Ten Premier League players named in FIFA's FIFPro World XI 2015 shortlist

wayne rooney 3.JPG
wayne rooney 3.JPG

Wayne Rooney and John Terry secure spots in FIFAs final 55 player shortlist for FIFA FIFPro World XI 2015

FIFA and FIFPro have announced the final 55 player shortlist for the FIFA FIFPro World XI 2015.

The FIFA FIFPro World XI is voted for by the players and it involves votes from nearly25,000 professional footballers from 70 different countries

One goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders and three forwards are selected for the shortlist.

Included in the shortlist are 10 Premier League players.

Wayne Rooney, John Terry, Eden Hazard, David De Gea, Branislav Ivanović, Vincent Kompany, David Silva, Yaya Touré, Sergio Agüero,  Alexis Sánchez have all made FIFA's final 55 shortlist.

Alexis Sánchez is the only Arsenal player to make the shortlist.

With 10 players in the line-up, Bayern Munich is the most nominated club.

The final FIFA FIFPro World XI will be announced at the FIFA Ballon d’Or award ceremony at the Kongresshaus in Zurich on 11 January 2016.

The winner of the FIFA Ballon d’Or for best player of 2015 and the winner of the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year 2015 award will also be revealed during the ceremony.


The 55-player shortlist: (home country/club) 

Goalkeepers (5): Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/Juventus), Iker Casillas (Spain/FC Porto), David De Gea (Spain/Manchester United), Keylor Navas (Costa Rica/Real Madrid) and Manuel Neuer (Germany/FC Bayern Munich).

Defenders (20): David Alaba (Austria/FC Bayern Munich), Jordi Alba (Spain/FC Barcelona), Jérôme Boateng (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Daniel Carvajal (Spain/Real Madrid), Giorgio Chiellini (Italy/Juventus), Dani Alves (Brazil/FC Barcelona), David Luiz (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain), Diego Godín (Uruguay/Atletico Madrid), Mats Hummels (Germany/Borussia Dortmund), Branislav Ivanović (Serbia/Chelsea), Vincent Kompany (Belgium/Manchester City), Philipp Lahm (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Marcelo (Brazil/Real Madrid), Javier Mascherano (Argentina/FC Barcelona), Pepe (Portugal/Real Madrid), Gerard Piqué (Spain/FC Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Spain/Real Madrid), John Terry (England/Chelsea), Thiago Silva (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain) and Raphaël Varane (France/Real Madrid).

Midfielders (15): Thiago Alcântara (Spain/FC Bayern Munich), Xabi Alonso (Spain/FC Bayern Munich), Sergio Busquets (Spain/FC Barcelona), Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea), Andrés Iniesta (Spain/FC Barcelona), Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid), Luka Modrić (Croatia/Real Madrid), Andrea Pirlo (Italy/New York City FC), Paul Pogba (France/Juventus), Ivan Rakitić (Croatia/FC Barcelona), James Rodríguez (Colombia/Real Madrid), David Silva (Spain/Manchester City),Yaya Touré (Côte d’Ivoire/Manchester City), Marco Verratti (Italy/Paris Saint-Germain) and Arturo Vidal (Chile/FC Bayern Munich).

Strikers (15): Sergio Agüero (Argentina/Manchester City), Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid), Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid), Douglas Costa (Brazil/FC Bayern Munich), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid), Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden/Paris Saint-Germain), Robert Lewandowski (Poland/FC Bayern Munich), Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona), Thomas Müller (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Neymar (Brazil/FC Barcelona), Arjen Robben (Netherlands/FC Bayern Munich), Wayne Rooney (England/Manchester United), Alexis Sánchez (Chile/Arsenal), Luis Suárez (Uruguay/FC Barcelona) and Carlos Tevez (Argentina/Boca Juniors).