Robbie Keane named in 28-man Ireland squad

Robbie Keane named in 28-man Ireland squad

Martin O'Neill has named his 28-man squad for the upcoming ties against Oman and Serbia.

Republic of Ireland legend Robbie Keane is part of the latest squad named by Martin O'Neill.

The 36-year-old Dubliner makes up a roster of four forwards, including Shane Long, Daryl Murphy and Jonathan Walters.

Another notable inclusion is young winger Callum O'Dowda, who impressed in the team's final pre-Euro 2016 friendly against Belarus.

O'Neill's men take on Oman today week at the Aviva in a friendly tie before the World Cup 2018 qualifying campaign begins in earnest away to Serbia on September 5 in Belgrade.

Speaking to, the Ireland manager looked ahead to the new qualifying campaign following a successful outing in France at Euro 2016. 

"After the excitement of UEFA EURO 2016 it seems as if we had little time to enjoy some excellent performances during that tournament," said O'Neill.

"The World Cup qualifying campaign is already upon us and we have a difficult set of fixtures in the coming months. 

"The visit of Oman to the Aviva Stadium reminds us of the game they played in Dublin two years ago.

"That took place immediately before we embarked on our European qualifying campaign.

"This game is ideal preparation for our first qualifier against Serbia in Belgrade a few days later.

"The Oman game also gives us the chance to play in front of Ireland supporters who enhanced their own reputation in France.

"We are looking forward to both games."

Republic of Ireland squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (West Ham United), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), David Forde (Portsmouth)

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie, Richard Keogh, Alex Pearce (Derby County) Paul McShane (Reading), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Marc Wilson (Bournemouth), Stephen Ward (Burnley)

Midfielders: James McClean (West Bromwich Albion), Glenn Whelan (Stoke City), Aiden McGeady, James McCarthy (Everton), Jeff Hendrick (Derby County), Stephen Quinn (Reading), David Meyler (Hull City), Harry Arter, Eunan O'Kane (Bournemouth), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), Robbie Brady, Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City)

Forwards: Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Shane Long (Southampton), Daryl Murphy (Ipswich Town), Jonathan Walters (Stoke City)