Martin O'Neill names strong Ireland team to play Holland

Martin O'Neill at Wednesday's press conference
Martin O'Neill at Wednesday's press conference

Martin O'Neill has named the XI that will begin against the Netherlands at the Aviva Stadium tonight.

The Ireland boss has named a strong side to play the Dutch, with regulars Robbie Brady, Shane Long, Glenn Whelan and Seamus Coleman, who isn't long back from injury, all starting.

Darren Randolph, a certain starter in France following Rob Elliot's injury, begins in goal.

Blackburn Rovers man Shane Duffy partners John O'Shea in the centre of defence, while it looks as though Brady will begin at left-back with Coleman on the other side of the backline.

Harry Arter, a player who needs to make an impression in these last two friendlies to book his spot on the plane, lines up alongside Stephen Quinn (another who is on the edge of the squad) in the middle of the park. Glenn Whelan completes what looks to be a three-man midfield.

Up front, Shane Long is flanked by Jon Walters and Ipswich Town forward David McGoldrick.

Dundalk goalkeeper Gary Rogers has been named among tonight's substitutes:

Ireland: Randolph; Coleman, O'Shea, Duffy, Brady; Whelan, Arter, Quinn; Walters, McGoldrick, Long

Subs: Given (GK), Rogers (GK), O'Kane, Keogh, McGeady, Keane, McClean, Christie, Ward, Hoolahan, Murphy, O'Dowda, Hendrick, Gibson

O'Neill, who is currently choosing from the below 30-man squad, has said that it will be tough for him to tell certain current panel members that they won't be travelling to France.

Here is the Holland team they will face, including Manchester United winger Memphis Depay:

To get yourself in the mood for tonight's friendly, watch Robbie Brady's incredible free kick from yesterday's training session:

Current 30-man Republic of Ireland squad:

Goalkeepers: Shay Given (Stoke), Darren Randolph (West Ham), David Forde (Millwall), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday) 

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie (Derby), Ciaran Clark (Aston Villa), Richard Keogh (Derby), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Shane Duffy (Blackburn), Stephen Ward (Burnley) 

Midfielders: Aiden McGeady (Sheffield Wednesday), James McClean (West Brom), Glenn Whelan (Stoke), James McCarthy (Everton), Jeff Hendrick (Derby), David Meyler (Hull), Stephen Quinn (Reading), Darron Gibson (Everton), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich), Eunan O'Kane (Bournemouth), Robbie Brady (Norwich), Jonathan Walters (Stoke), Callum O'Dowda (Oxford) 

Forwards: Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Shane Long (Southampton), David McGoldrick (Ipswich), Kevin Doyle (Colorado Rapids), Daryl Murphy (Ipswich)