Martin O'Neill announces 38-man Ireland squad for Austria clash, friendlies

Martin O'Neill at the Ireland press conference in Dublin today (Image: Sportsfile)
Martin O'Neill at the Ireland press conference in Dublin today (Image: Sportsfile)

The Republic of Ireland boss has named a 38-man squad for fixtures against Mexico, Uruguay and Austria.

The Boys in Green travel to America to play Mexico on June 1 before taking on Uruguay in Dublin four days later.

Both friendlies precede a mammoth World Cup qualifying fixture at home to Austria on June 11.

O'Neill has named this squad for the three matches:

Burnley defender Kevin Long receives his first international call-up in the 38-man strong squad, which will be trimmed in the coming weeks.

"I saw Kevin Long play last week. He really impressed me, don't discount him. It'll be good to have a look at him," the Ireland manager said of the centre-half.

Uncapped Reading midfielder Liam Kelly, who scored once and assisted five goals in the Championship this season, is also part of O'Neill's initial squad but the manager's comments suggest that the 21-year-old will struggle to make the final cut.

"He is a nice tidy footballer, small, you'd hope that one so young has a future ahead," O'Neill said of Kelly.

"But when I narrow the squad down I will be looking at players who have plenty of experience at international level going into this game against Austria. This game is so, so important for us."

Ireland currently occupy second position in Group D on 11 points, level with table-toppers Serbia while sitting four ahead of Austria.

Republic of Ireland Squad

Goalkeepers: Colin Doyle (Bradford City), Rob Elliot (Newcastle United), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Darren Randolph (West Ham United)

Defenders: Cyrus Christie, Richard Keogh, Alex Pearce (Derby County), Paul McShane (Reading), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Andy Boyle (Preston North End), John Egan (Brentford), Marc Wilson (West Bromwich Albion), Kevin Long, Stephen Ward (Burnley), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers)

Midfielders: Aiden McGeady (Everton), James McCarthy (Everton), Glenn Whelan (Stoke City), Jeff Hendrick, Robbie Brady (Burnley), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Stephen Gleeson (Birmingham City), Eunan O'Kane (Leeds United), Darron Gibson (Sunderland), Liam Kelly (Reading), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), Daryl Horgan (Preston North End), Jonathan Hayes (Aberdeen)

Forwards: Kevin Doyle (Colorado Rapids), David McGoldrick (Ipswich Town), Daryl Murphy (Newcastle United), Shane Long (Southampton), Jonathan Walters (Stoke City), Adam Rooney (Aberdeen)