Bournemouth's Harry Arter gets Ireland call-up

O'Neill ready for Poland showdown
O'Neill ready for Poland showdown

Republic of Ireland manager Martin O'Neill has named his squad for the crucial Euro 2016 against Poland and handed Bournemouth's Harry Arter a first call-up.

Arter, 25, was included among an initial 35-man party, which will be reduced before the players meet up on March 22, named by manager Martin O'Neill on Thursday morning.

There was a place too for defender Paul McShane following his return to action at club Hull, although not for Crystal Palace counterpart Damien Delaney.

Speaking at today’s press conference to announce the FAI’s new sponsorship with Bank Of Ireland, O’Neill said: “We have reached a very important time in our qualifying campaign.

"I am looking forward to assembling the squad for the first time this year in preparation for the game.

"Poland have started the qualifying campaign in great form and a win in this game would be a fantastic boost to everyone."

O'Neill and his team know they dare not slip up again after losing in their last qualifier against Scotland, with the game at the Aviva Stadium on March 29th potentially decisive for Ireland's hopes of qualifying for the finals in France next year.

There was some confusion at the press conference as Wes Hoolahan's name was initially left off the Ireland squad list distributed to the media, before a second print out was hastily printed that included his name.

"It was always my intention to have Wes in the squad, but the print out didn't quite reflect that," added O'Neill with a smile. 

GOALKEEPERS: David Forde (Millwall), Shay Given (Aston Villa), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Darren Randolph (Birmingham, Rob Elliot (Newcastle),

DEFENDERS: Richard Keogh (Derby), Marc Wilson (Stoke), Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie (Derby), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Alex Pearce (Reading), Paul McShane (Hull), James McCarthy (Everton), Jeff Hendrick (Derby), Ciaran Clark (Aston Villa), Stephen Ward (Burnley),

MIDFIELDERS: Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Glenn Whelan (Stoke), Darron Gibson (Everton), Paul Green (Rotherham), Aiden McGeady (Everton), Anthony Pilkington (Cardiff), James McClean (Wigan), Robbie Brady, Stephen Quinn, David Meyler (all Hull), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich),

FORWARDS: Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Shane Long (Southampton), Daryl Murphy (Ipswich), Jon Walters (Stoke), Kevin Doyle (Wolves), Anthony Stokes (Celtic), Simon Cox (Reading), David McGoldrick (Ipswich).