Ireland's Rugby World Cup squad announced

Andrew Trimble
Andrew Trimble

Joe Schmidt has officially announced his 31-man squad for this year's Rugby World Cup.

Unfortunately Ulster man Andrew Trimble has missed the boat, along with Leinster's Isaac Boss. 

Trimble, who was voted Ireland's 2014 player of the year has only played once in the last 12 months, against Wales, in this month's 35-12 victory in Cardiff, due to a foot injury.

Darren Cave and once-capped Wexford man Tadhg Furlong, who debuted last weekend, have been included in the squad.

"There were some very tight decisions, particularly in the back three and it was also a challenge to make sure that key positions were covered as much as a squad of 31 players allows", said Schmidt. 

“A number of players were very unlucky to miss selection. We know from observing past World Cups that it’s important for us to keep track of their performances because some of them are likely to be involved in the tournament.”

Paul O'Connell will lead the squad in England and Wales after making his final appearance for Ireland on home soil last weekend.

Joe Schmidt will confirm his 31-man squad early this afternoon at a press conference at Carton House, but he is expected to announce the following squad.

Ireland's Rugby World Cup squad:

Props: Cian Healy, Jack McGrath, Mike Ross, Nathan White, Tadhg Furlong

Hookers: Rory Best, Sean Cronin, Richardt Strauss

Locks: Paul O’Connell, Devin Toner, Iain Henderson, Donnacha Ryan

Back rows: Jamie Heaslip, Sean O’Brien, Peter O’Mahony, Chris Henry, Jordi Murphy

Halfbacks: Conor Murray, Eoin Reddan, Johnny Sexton, Ian Madigan, Paddy Jackson

Centres: Robbie Henshaw, Darren Cave, Jared Payne.

Outside backs: Rob Kearney, Tommy Bowe, Simon Zebo, Keith Earls, Luke Fitzgerald, Dave Kearney.