Ireland team to play New Zealand in Dublin announced

Ireland team to play New Zealand in Dublin announced

Sean O'Brien has been named to start for Ireland against New Zealand in the only change to the starting XV that made history in Chicago.

The flanker replaces the injured Jordi Murphy in the back-row, edging out Josh van der Flier who is on the bench as Peter O'Mahony misses out altogether.

Ultan Dillane has been ruled out with an injury, which means Iain Henderson covers the second-row with Paddy Jackson in for Joey Carbery.

Otherwise, it's as you were as Keith Earls' strong performance against Canada fails to earn him a place in the match-day with Simon Zebo continuing on the left wing and Garry Ringrose named in the No 23 shirt.

Ireland beat the world champion All Blacks for the first time in 29 attempts in Chicago two weeks ago, but now their challenge is to do it again.

Having rested 13 of the starting XV for the big win over Canada last weekend, it is perhaps no surprise that Schmidt is trusting the same team.

O'Brien won his first international cap since February against the Canadians and, while he could be accused of trying a little hard, he will add some ball-carrying might to the pack alongside CJ Stander.

New Zealand, meanwhile, have recalled fit-again second-rows Brodie Retallick and Sam Whitelock to their side, with Israel Dagg coming in for Waisake Naholo who is on the bench.

With Ryan Crotty and George Moala out, Anton Lienert-Brown and Malakai Fekitoa start at centre.


15. Rob Kearney

14. Andrew Trimble

13. Jared Payne

12. Robbie Henshaw

11. Simon Zebo

10. Johnny Sexton

9.  Conor Murray

1. Jack McGrath

2. Rory Best (capt)

3. Tadhg Furlong

4. Donnacha Ryan

5. Devin Toner

6. CJ Stander

7. Sean O’Brien

8. Jamie Heaslip

Replacements: Sean Cronin, Cian Healy, Finlay Bealham, I Henderson, Josh van der Flier, Kieran Marmion, Paddy Jackson, Garry Ringrose.