Six All Stars for Dublin as Mayo keeper gets the nod

Dublin's Dean Rock has been awarded an All Star, one of six Dubs to get the honour
Dublin's Dean Rock has been awarded an All Star, one of six Dubs to get the honour

David Clarke endured major disappointment when he was dropped for the All-Ireland final replay, but there was some compensation for the Mayo man when he was named the football All-Star goalkeeper.

Clarke started and finished the championship as understudy to Rob Hennelly but played in the six matches between the defeat to Galway in Connacht and the replayed All-Ireland final, for which he was dropped.

The selectors handed Clarke his first award following his series of significant saves in Mayo's run to the final, with Tipperary's Evan Comerford and Dublin's Stephen Cluxton losing out.

Mayo are awarded four All-Stars but none of their forwards are recognised with defenders Brendan Harrison, Colm Boyle and Lee Keegan also picking up awards. All-Ireland champions Dublin pick up six gongs. Jonny Cooper, Philly McMahon, Dean Rock and Diarmuid Connolly join Footballer of the Year nominees Ciaran Kilkenny and Brian Fenton in the team.

Tyrone are next on the list with two winners in Mattie Donnelly and Peter Harte. Kerry (Paul Geaney), Tipperary (Michael Quinlivan) and Donegal (Ryan McHugh) make up the remainder of the selection.

McHugh's award means his family join the Brogans of Dublin as the second family to have a father and two sons win All-Stars.

The hurling award winners will be announced at a ceremony tomorrow night, along with the Hurler and Footballer of the Year.

2016 Football All-Stars - David Clarke (Mayo); Brendan Harrison (Mayo), Jonny Cooper (Dublin), Philly McMahon (Dublin); Lee Keegan (Mayo), Colm Boyle (Mayo), Ryan McHugh (Donegal); Brian Fenton (Dublin), Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone); Peter Harte (Tyrone), Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin), Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin); Dean Rock (Dublin), Michael Quinlivan (Tipperary), Paul Geaney (Kerry).