Galway and Kilkenny lead the way in hurling All Stars nominations

Top Cat: Joey Holden is nominated along with 11 of his team-mates
Top Cat: Joey Holden is nominated along with 11 of his team-mates

Kilkenny duo Richie Hogan and TJ Reid have been joined on the shortlist for GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year, in association with Opel, by Tipperary's Seamus Callanan.

The list, announced today, is along expected lines with Reid and Hogan so instrumental in driving Kilkenny to an 11th All-Ireland title in 16 years.

Callanan gave the individual performance of the year when he hit 3-4 from play in Tipperary's All-Ireland semi-final defeat to Galway.

All-Ireland champions Kilkenny and Galway have the same number - 12 - of All-Star nominees. Only Walter Walsh, Colin Fennelly and Shane Prendergast, who replaced the injured Jackie Tyrrell who missed the All-Ireland series, miss out from the team that started against Galway.

Galway have a heavy population of nominees too with just John Hanbury, Aidan Harte and Conor Whelan from their starting team failing to make the cut at this stage.

They have one more forward nominated than the All-Ireland champions' four.

Despite losing to Tipperary in Munster final, Waterford's progressive season that saw them unbeaten through nine matches is reflected in the inclusion of 11 players, four more than Tipperary. Neither Shane McGrath nor James Woodlock, who operated as Tipp's main midfield pairing, have been included as Kilkenny, Galway and Waterford dominate the six positions.

In all, seven counties are represented with the four All-Ireland semi-finalists dominating. There are single nominations for Clare's Tony Kelly, Cork's Seamus Harnedy and Dublin's Mark Schutte. Nine of last year's team are in line for back-to-back awards, Tipperary's Darren Gleeson, John O'Dwyer, Brendan Maher, Pádraic Maher and Callanan and Kilkenny's Reid, Hogan, Paul Murphy and Cillian Buckley.

Galway have two representatives for Young Hurler of the Year, Jason Flynn and Cathal Mannion joining Waterford sweeper Tadhg de Búrca.

Via Keys