Dublin and Kildare reach Leinster U-21 decider

GAABy Sean McGoldrick
Dublin's Colm Basquel scores his side's second goal despite the best efforts of Longford goalkeeper Colm Farrell
Dublin's Colm Basquel scores his side's second goal despite the best efforts of Longford goalkeeper Colm Farrell

Defending All-Ireland U-21 title holders, Dublin conceded three goals to a spirited Longford side but still reached the Leinster final.

The Dubs were rocked when the challengers hit two goals in the first quarter but they managed to reply with two of their own and led at half time.

Gallant Longford never gave up the chase and scored a third goal but Dessie Farrell's side still prevailed by five points.

Kildare eased past Meath in the other semi-final winning by eight points.

Cavan's four year reign as Ulster U-21 champions ended in dramatic fashion in Ballybofey.

Donegal senior player Ryan McHugh went from villain to hero in less than 15 minutes.

He missed a penalty for the home side with less than 13 minutes remaining which enabled Cavan, who were bidding to win the provincial crown for a fifth successive time, to lead by two points deep in injury time.

But McHugh sent the Donegal fans into raptures in the third minute of injury time when he popped up to score the winning goal to book his side a semi-final slot.

In the other quarter final ties in Ulster there were wins for Tyrone and Monaghan whle the Armagh v Antrim game was cancelled after floodlit failure to the Athletic Grounds.

Cork's dominance over Kerry in the Munster U-21 championship continued as the Rebels beat the Kingdom managed by Darragh O Se at Pairc Ui Rinn.

The victory keeps Cork on track for a fifth successive provincial title. They will meet Tipperary in the decider - the Premier County overcame the challenge of Clare.

Last year's beaten All-Ireland finalists Roscommon looked set to be a force in the competition.

They put six goals past Sligo and won by 24 points to reach the provincial decider.


Leinster U-21 Championship: Dublin 2-15; Longford 3-7; Kildare 2-15; Meath 0-13.

Munster U-21 Championship: Cork 1-12; Kerry 1-9; Tipperary 0-15; Clare 0-7

Connacht U-21 Championship: Roscommon 6-18; Sligo 0-12

Ulster U-21 Championship:: Donegal 1-7; Cavan 0-9; Tyrone 0-17; Fermanagh 0-7; Monaghan 0-15; Derry 1-8