All-Stars hurling team for 2016 announced as Tipperary take centre stage

Brendan Maher and TJ Reid during the 2016 All-Ireland final
Brendan Maher and TJ Reid during the 2016 All-Ireland final

All-Ireland Champions Tipperary make up almost half of the 2016 hurling All-Stars selection.

Along with the seven Premier County men, four Kilkenny players and two hurlers each from Waterford and Galway make up the 2016 XV:

Tipperary's victory in the 2016 All-Ireland hurling final propelled their players into the All-Stars selection with numerous Tipp hurlers having excellent years.

Beaten finalists Kilkenny supply four members of the side, while two players from each of this year's semi-finals complete the team.

One of those, Waterford's Austin Gleeson, also picked up Young Hurler of the Year:

Incredibly, the Deise star was also named Hurler of the Year in a quite incredible achievement:

All-Stars hurling team 2016: Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny); Cathal Barrett (Tipp), James Barry (Tipp), Daithí Burke (Galway); Padraic Walsh (Kilkenny), Ronan Maher (Tipp), Padraic Maher (Tipp); Jamie Barron (Waterford), David Burke (Galway); Walter Walsh (Kilkenny), Austin Gleeson (Waterford), Patrick ‘Bonner’ Maher (Tipp); Richie Hogan (Kilkenny), Seamus Callanan (Tipperary), John McGrath (Tipp)

The All-Stars football team for 2016 was named during the week:

Mayo's Diarmuid O'Connor was named as Young Footballer of the Year:

Mayo also took the coveted Footballer of the Year award as half-back Lee Keegan took the award:

Check out all the glitz and glamour from the event here.