GAA round-up: Corofin beat Mitchels in Connacht classic

Michael Farragher of Corofin celebrates following his side's victory
Michael Farragher of Corofin celebrates following his side's victory

Galway club Corofin will face St Brigid’s of Roscommon in the Connacht SFC club final after defeating reigning provincial champions Castlebar Mitchels 0-17 to 0-14 after extra time at MacHale Park.

Normal time ended with the sides tied at 0-11 points each, but Corofin got the upper hand in extra time and won by three points, with scores from Michael Lundy and Gary Sice helping them over the line.

It was welcome revenge for Corofin after Mitchels' five-point victory in last year's provincial final.

St Brigid's had a much more comfortable path to the final, easily disposing of Leitrim champions Aughawillan 2-18 to 1-07.

Darren Dolan and Brian Stack got a goal in each half for the Roscommon champions.

In Leinster, Colm O'Rourke was sent to the stands for arguing with the officials as his Simonstown side crashed out of the championship, losing 1-12 to 1-09 to Offaly champions Rhode.

Conor McNamee raised a green flag for Rhode who held on despite a late Simonstown fightback, which included a penalty from Eanna Donoghue.

The Meath champions, who were without Conor Nash ahead of his move to the AFL on Tuesday, also saw O'Rourke's son Shane dismissed in the second half for two yellow card offences.

Dublin champions St. Vincent's are also through to the provincial semi-finals after they comfortably saw off Carlow champions Palatine 0-16 to 0-08.

Vincent's had star man Diarmuid Connolly black carded in the first half but they recovered to dominate proceedings after the interval, with Mossy Quinn in fine form once again and Cormac Diamond also catching the eye with several impressive scores.

Louth champions Sean O'Mahonys also moved into the final four after they held off 14-man Sarsfields from Kildare to record a 1-8 to 0-8 victory, with Stephen Fisher netting the only goal of the game.

In Munster, Colm Cooper hit top form as Kerry kings Dr Crokes reached their fifth provincial final in seven years.

The Gooch grabbed the only goal of the game after just seven minutes as Crokes beat Tipperary champions Loughmore-Castleiney by 1-12 to 0-09 in Killarney.

The Kerry men will meet Waterford champions The Nire in the Munster final after the latter saw off Cork side Carbery Rangers 2-15 to 1-12 in extra time after a thriller in Clonakilty.

In Ulster, Down side Kilcoo scored three goals in the first half as they recorded a 13-point victory over Maghery to book their place in the provincial decider.

Kilcoo will meet Derry champions Slaughtneil in the final after they got the better of Killyclogher on a scoreline of 1-11 to 0-08.


Connacht SFC semi-finals:

St Brigid's (Roscommon) 2-18 Aughawillan (Leitrim) 1-07

Corofin (Galway) 0-17 Castlebar Mitchels (Mayo) 0-14 AET

Leinster SFC quarter-finals:

Sean O'Mahony's (Louth) 1-08 Sarsfields (Kildare) 0-08

Rhode (Offaly) 1-12 Simonstown (Meath) 1-09

St Vincent's (Dublin) 0-16 Palatine (Carlow) 0-08

Mullinalaghta (Longford) 0-14 St Loman's (Westmeath) 1-09

Munster SFC semi-finals:

Dr Crokes (Kerry) 1-12 Loughmore-Castleiney (Tipperary) 0-09

The Nire (Waterford) 2-15 Carbery Rangers (Cork) 1-13 AET

Ulster SFC semi-finals:

Slaughtneil (Derry) 1-11 Killyclogher (Tyrone) 0-08

Kilcoo (Down) 4-13 Maghery (Armagh) 0-12