ELECTION LATEST: Shane Ross declared the first TD elected to the 32nd Dáil

Shane Ross
Shane Ross

Loud cheers rang out as Shane Ross was declared the first TD elected to the 32nd Dáil.

The Independent Alliance incumbent reached the quota in Dublin Rathdown after the second count, having been just 73 votes off after count one.

The quota of 10,275 was passed after Alan Daveron’s votes were transferred on his elimination. Ross was elected with 10,411 votes.

Fine Gael’s Alan Shatter and Josepha Madigan are in the battle along with the Green Party’s Catherine Martin for the two remaining seats in Dublin Rathdown.

Alex White looks set to be another casualty of the Labour meltdown

Independent TD Peter Mathews has also lost his seat and has been eliminated.