ELECTION LATEST: Five TDs elected to the 32nd Dáil so far

Eoin O Broin
Eoin O Broin

Five TDs have been elected to the 32nd Dáil so far.

Independent Alliance TD Shane Ross was the first after he was elected on the second count in Dublin Rathdown, joining Seán Barrett in Dun Laoghaire who was automatically returned as Ceann Comhairle.

"We would be the catalyst for change in Ireland and in Irish politics and we would be the people who insist upon it," he told RTÉ Radio.

In Dublin Mid-West the outgoing Justice Minister, Fine Gael's Frances Fitzgerald was also returned alongside Sinn Féin's Eoin O'Broin.

Meanwhile, Fianna Fáil's Sean Fleming was elected in Laois.

Although Galway East was the first constituency to declare a first count no-one was elected although it looked likely that Colm Keaveney who defected from Labour to Fianna Fáil in the last Dáil would lose his seat.