Alan Shatter and Alex White among biggest casualties of election

Alan Shatter
Alan Shatter

Former justice minister Alan Shatter has lost his seat in the General Election.

He resigned from the cabinet in 2014 after he was found to have inadequately handled allegations of corruption and malpractice in the Garda force.

The ex-Fine Gael representative for Dublin Rathdown launched a bitter attack on party headquarters, blaming it for "setting the wrong tone from day one", after he was ousted by the Green Party.

Labour communications minister Alex White also lost his seat. He was a high-profile casualty of the collapsing party vote nationwide and also failed to win re-election in Dublin Rathdown.

Renua Ireland leader Lucinda Creighton was eliminated. The fringe party was founded last year after Ms Creighton split from Fine Gael over voting against the Protection of Life During Pregnancy Act 2013. The law allowed a termination on the grounds of a threat to the mother of suicide.

Fianna Fail's former deputy leader and cabinet heavyweight Mary Hanafin succumbed in Dun Laoghaire under the challenge from Fine Gael and anti-austerity candidates. She lost her seat in 2011 but was bidding to return to the 32nd Dail.

Labour's Joe Costello served as trade minister of state until a cabinet reshuffle in 2014. He was excluded in Dublin Central after a boundary change as part of a slimming down of the Dail.

Fellow Labour TD and former rural minister Ann Phelan was excluded in Carlow/Kilkenny. In taking the first seat in the 2011 election she became the first woman to do so since the establishment of the State.