Jon Anderson scoops Prog God award

Jon Anderson scoops Prog God award

Jon Anderson has been honoured with the prestigious Prog God award.

The 71-year-old co-founder and original lead singer of 60s rock band Yes received the accolade at Prog Magazine's fifth annual Progressive Music Awards, in association with Currencies.co.uk which was held at London's Underglobe on Thursday night (01.09.16).

Jon was guest of honour and was presented with a gong in recognition of being one of music's innovators, joining the list of previous honorees including his Yes bandmate Rick Wakeman, Ian Anderson, Peter Gabriel and Tony Banks.

Broadcaster Matthew Wright hosted the awards ceremony which celebrated the past, present and future of prog.

Elsewhere among the winners, Trevor Horn collected The Outer Limits award for his band The Buggles, and The Police's Andy Summers won the Guiding Light Award.

Breakthrough acts The Anchoress and The Mute Gods picked up the Limelight and Vanguard awards respectively.

Meanwhile, Big Big Train, who released their eighth studio album 'Folklore' in May this year, were multiple winners on the night and picked up Live Event for their Kings Place shows in London - which marked their first live performances in 17 years - plus Band of the Year.

Progressive Music Awards 2016 full list of winners:

Limelight sponsored by K Scope:

The Anchoress

Anthem sponsored by Teamrock.com:

'Towards the Blue Horizon', Riverside

Live Event sponsored by The Stage:

Big Big Train, Kings Place gigs

Vanguard sponsored by The Ticket Factory:

The Mute Gods

Storm Thorgerson Grand Design Award sponsored by Chord Electronics:

Anthony Phillips Esoteric Reissue Series

Album of the Year sponsored by Cherry Red Records:

'Lighthouse', iamthemorning

Band of the Year sponsored by Olympus:

Big Big Train

The Outer Limits sponsored by Inside Out Music:


Chris Squire Virtuoso sponsored by Butlins (Giants of Rock):

Jakko Jakszyk (King Crimson)

Guiding Light sponsored by currencies.co.uk:

Andy Summers

Visionary sponsored by Eagle Vision:

Jon Hiseman (colosseum)

Lifetime Achievement sponsored by Prog Rocks: Van der Graaf Generator

Prog God:

Jon Anderson