You didn't fall for the Facebook 'privacy' hoaxes, did you?
If your Facebook feed is full of paragraph-long statuses about privacy, you are not alone – two privacy hoaxes claiming to protect users' media has once again been making the rounds on the social network.
The message claims to put copyright protections on a user's posts after they share the status update.
One claims to be a legally-binding message to protect photos and profile information from copyright infringement, a false status that has been spreading since 2012.
While the other purports to allow users to purchase a £5.99 monthly subscription to ensure posts stay private, a fake offer that has been around since at least 2011.
“Now it's official! It has been published in the media. Facebook has just released the entry price: £5.99 (€8.10) to keep the subscription of your status to be set to private,” reads the hoax message.
“If you paste this message on your page, it will be offered free (I said paste not share) if not tomorrow, all your posts can become public. Even the messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. After all, it does not cost anything for a simple copy and paste.”
Facebook addressed these two hoaxes years, saying it users “control how that content and information is shared. That is our policy, and it always has been."
“This is false. Anyone who uses Facebook owns and controls the content and information they post, as stated in our terms," the social network has previously explained.
By now you will have surely seen some of your friends post one or both of these so make sure you tell them that they can safely take them down now.